Guitare Montreal | Michel Beauchamp

MAY 26 to 28, 2017

Michel Beauchamp

Michel Beauchamp studied at the Montreal Conservatory of Music. He earned a 1st prize in guitar in the class of Jean Vallières and completed a graduate diploma in Harmony, Counterpoint and Fugue under the direction of Jacques Faubert. Mr. Beauchamp has also studied in Canada and Spain with renowed guitar masters, such as Manuel Barrueco, Alvaro Pierri and David Russell.

Early in his career, Mr. Beauchamp explored chamber music, especially with the violinist Johanne Morin, harpsichordist Yves-G. Préfontaine, and soprano Adrienne Savoie. It is with the latest that Michel Beauchamp recorded his first CD with ATMA in 2001. Michel Beauchamp played concerts in Canada, the United States and France. Some of these recitals have been broadcasted by the Société Radio-Canada and the Vermont Public Radio.

Later on he became interested in flamenco guitar, which he integrated professionally in 2003. In 2013, Michel Beauchamp founded the Atelier de Guitare Flamenca for which he developed a 140 pages complete course that covered theory, technique and repertoire for this distinct style of guitar playing.

In 2004, the Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur invited Michel Beauchamp to present the complete works of Francisco Tarrega. It is on this occasion that his five years of extensive research began, which lead him to Spain. Mr. Beauchamp has recorded Tarrega's complete works in 2009 at XXI-21-Universal (CD XXI-2 1666) and supervised an edition at Productions d’OZ (DZ 1180).

In 2008, Michel Beauchamp analysed the lute works of J.S. Bach, and successfully recorded them on a seven-string guitar, scrupulously respecting the original manuscripts. In 2011, the double CD of this body of works appears at Universal XXI-21 (XXI CD 2 1735) and the sheet music edition at Productions d’OZ (DZ 1575).

In 2014, Michel Beauchamp founded the Trio Iberia with the violinist Johanne Morin and the cellist Julie Trudeau. The repertoire of the trio consists of transcriptions by Mr. Beauchamp of the most beautiful Spanish classical works of great composers such as Granados, Albeniz, Rodrigo and De Falla.

Michel Beauchamp’s seven-string classical guitar is a creation of the luthier René Wilhelmy. For flamenco music, Mr. Beauchamp uses a 1966 Ramirez, manufactured by the workshop chief Pedro Contreras y Valbuena.

Michel Beauchamp

Michel Beauchamp studied at the Montreal Conservatory of Music. He earned a 1st prize in guitar in the class of Jean Vallières and completed a graduate diploma in Harmony, Counterpoint and Fugue under the direction of Jacques Faubert. Mr. Beauchamp has also studied in Canada and Spain with renowed guitar masters, such as Manuel Barrueco, Alvaro Pierri and David Russell.

Early in his career, Mr. Beauchamp explored chamber music, especially with the violinist Johanne Morin, harpsichordist Yves-G. Préfontaine, and soprano Adrienne Savoie. It is with the latest that Michel Beauchamp recorded his first CD with ATMA in 2001. Michel Beauchamp played concerts in Canada, the United States and France. Some of these recitals have been broadcasted by the Société Radio-Canada and the Vermont Public Radio.

Later on he became interested in flamenco guitar, which he integrated professionally in 2003. In 2013, Michel Beauchamp founded the Atelier de Guitare Flamenca for which he developed a 140 pages complete course that covered theory, technique and repertoire for this distinct style of guitar playing.

In 2004, the Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur invited Michel Beauchamp to present the complete works of Francisco Tarrega. It is on this occasion that his five years of extensive research began, which lead him to Spain. Mr. Beauchamp has recorded Tarrega's complete works in 2009 at XXI-21-Universal (CD XXI-2 1666) and supervised an edition at Productions d’OZ (DZ 1180).

In 2008, Michel Beauchamp analysed the lute works of J.S. Bach, and successfully recorded them on a seven-string guitar, scrupulously respecting the original manuscripts. In 2011, the double CD of this body of works appears at Universal XXI-21 (XXI CD 2 1735) and the sheet music edition at Productions d’OZ (DZ 1575).

In 2014, Michel Beauchamp founded the Trio Iberia with the violinist Johanne Morin and the cellist Julie Trudeau. The repertoire of the trio consists of transcriptions by Mr. Beauchamp of the most beautiful Spanish classical works of great composers such as Granados, Albeniz, Rodrigo and De Falla.

Michel Beauchamp’s seven-string classical guitar is a creation of the luthier René Wilhelmy. For flamenco music, Mr. Beauchamp uses a 1966 Ramirez, manufactured by the workshop chief Pedro Contreras y Valbuena.

Guitare Montreal | Michel Beauchamp

26 au 28 MAI, 2017

Michel Beauchamp

Michel Beauchamp a fait ses études au Conservatoire de Musique de Montréal. Il s'est mérité un 1er prix en guitare, dans la classe de Jean Vallières, et a complété un diplôme d'études supérieures en harmonie, contrepoint et fugue, sous la supervision de Jacques Faubert. Mr. Beauchamp s'est également perfectionné en étudiant avec de grands maîtres de la guitare, tels que Manuel Barrueco, Alvaro Pierri, et David Russell.

Vers le début de sa carrière, Mr. Beauchamp a exploré la musique de chambre, plus particulièrement en collaboration avec la violiniste Johanne Morin, le claveciniste Yves-G. Préfontaine, et la soprano Adrienne Savoie. C'est avec cette dernière que Michel Beauchamp enregistra son premier CD sous la marque ATMA en 2001. Michel Beauchamp a donné des concerts au Canada, aux États-Unis et en France. Certaines de ces prestations furent présentées sur les ondes de la Société Radio-Canada et de Vermont Public Radio.

Par la suite, il s'intéressa au style flamenco, qu'il intégra professionnellement en 2003. En 2013, Michel Beauchamp fonda l'Atelier de Guitare Flamenca, pour lequel il développa un cours complet de 140 pages couvrant la théorie, la technique, et le répertoire pour ce style unique de guitare.

En 2004, la Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur invita Michel Beauchamp à présenter l'oeuvre complète de Francisco Tarrega. C'est à cette occasion qu'il entama une recherche intensive d'une durée de cinq ans qui le mena jusqu'en Espagne. Mr. Beauchamp a enregistré l'oeuvre complète de Tarrega en 2009 sous XXI-21-Universal (CD XXI-2 1666) et en a supervisé l'édition manuscrite aux Productions d’OZ (DZ 1180).

En 2008, Michel Beauchamp analysa l'oeuvre pour luth de J.S. Bach, et en fit un enregistrement fort réussi pour guitare à sept cordes, en respectant scrupulusement les manuscrits originaux. En 2011, le double CD de cette enregistrement apparait sous Universal XXI-21 (XXI CD 2 1735) et l'édition papier aux Productions d’OZ (DZ 1575).

En 2014, Michel Beauchamp fonda le Trio Iberia avec la violoniste Johanne Morin et la violoncelliste Julie Trudeau. Le répertoire du trio consiste en transcriptions, par Mr. Beauchamp, des plus belles oeuvres espagnoles classiques de grands compositeurs tels que Granados, Albeniz, Rodrigo et De Falla.

La guitare à sept cordes de Michel Beauchamp est une création du luthier René Wilhelmy. Pour la guitare flamenco, Mr. Beauchamp joue sur une Ramirez de 1966, fabriquée par le chef d'atelier Pedro Contreras y Valbuena.

Michel Beauchamp

Michel Beauchamp a fait ses études au Conservatoire de Musique de Montréal. Il s'est mérité un 1er prix en guitare, dans la classe de Jean Vallières, et a complété un diplôme d'études supérieures en harmonie, contrepoint et fugue, sous la supervision de Jacques Faubert. Mr. Beauchamp s'est également perfectionné en étudiant avec de grands maîtres de la guitare, tels que Manuel Barrueco, Alvaro Pierri, et David Russell.

Vers le début de sa carrière, Mr. Beauchamp a exploré la musique de chambre, plus particulièrement en collaboration avec la violiniste Johanne Morin, le claveciniste Yves-G. Préfontaine, et la soprano Adrienne Savoie. C'est avec cette dernière que Michel Beauchamp enregistra son premier CD sous la marque ATMA en 2001. Michel Beauchamp a donné des concerts au Canada, aux États-Unis et en France. Certaines de ces prestations furent présentées sur les ondes de la Société Radio-Canada et de Vermont Public Radio.

Par la suite, il s'intéressa au style flamenco, qu'il intégra professionnellement en 2003. En 2013, Michel Beauchamp fonda l'Atelier de Guitare Flamenca, pour lequel il développa un cours complet de 140 pages couvrant la théorie, la technique, et le répertoire pour ce style unique de guitare.

En 2004, la Chapelle historique du Bon-Pasteur invita Michel Beauchamp à présenter l'oeuvre complète de Francisco Tarrega. C'est à cette occasion qu'il entama une recherche intensive d'une durée de cinq ans qui le mena jusqu'en Espagne. Mr. Beauchamp a enregistré l'oeuvre complète de Tarrega en 2009 sous XXI-21-Universal (CD XXI-2 1666) et en a supervisé l'édition manuscrite aux Productions d’OZ (DZ 1180).

En 2008, Michel Beauchamp analysa l'oeuvre pour luth de J.S. Bach, et en fit un enregistrement fort réussi pour guitare à sept cordes, en respectant scrupulusement les manuscrits originaux. En 2011, le double CD de cette enregistrement apparait sous Universal XXI-21 (XXI CD 2 1735) et l'édition papier aux Productions d’OZ (DZ 1575).

En 2014, Michel Beauchamp fonda le Trio Iberia avec la violoniste Johanne Morin et la violoncelliste Julie Trudeau. Le répertoire du trio consiste en transcriptions, par Mr. Beauchamp, des plus belles oeuvres espagnoles classiques de grands compositeurs tels que Granados, Albeniz, Rodrigo et De Falla.

La guitare à sept cordes de Michel Beauchamp est une création du luthier René Wilhelmy. Pour la guitare flamenco, Mr. Beauchamp joue sur une Ramirez de 1966, fabriquée par le chef d'atelier Pedro Contreras y Valbuena.